The Cartoon Museum (London)

Screen Shot 2016-11-09 at 04.14.05.pngI now live three years in London, I consider it my home and one of the things I love about the city is the museums. I visit nearly every week a museum, gallery, or current exhibition – which changes constantly. London is ‘THE place’ for art and culture and I thought after those years I spend here, I knew all the important museums. What a vital error.
I heard the first time of the Cartoon Museum a week ago, actually when we were given the task to visit it. It is located close to the British Museum at 35 Little Russell Street, literally around the corner.  The Place -which is open to the public since 2007- spans over two floors and exhibits examples of British caricature, cartoons and comics from the early 18th century to the present day.  Divided into three galleries does the museum houses a large collection of original artworks, by artists as Hogarth, George Du Maurier, Charles Schulz and Alan Moore and David Lloyd. Screen Shot 2016-11-09 at 04.14.15.png
In my opinion is the Museum definitely worth a visit, especially for comic lovers but also for everyone who is enjoying literature, graphic novels or art in general. I really enjoyed the stay at the museum and  I have to mention that I surprisingly preferred the upper gallery over  the one at ground floor. I thought that I would prefer the older comics, political caricatures and the victorian artworks. But in fact, did I see myself drawn towards one specific comic book author (and one writer), David Lloyd (and Alan Moore). The illustrator of ‘V for Vendetta, published by DC Comics which illustrates the story of a dystopian close future set in the United Kingdom. I never really looked at the artwork of Lloyd, but since I have seen it in the museum I am fascinated, I purchased the book, later on, to read the story due to the fact that I only knew the movie version. With this in mind, I think the visit of the museum was a complete success and I would always return.
Note: a review of ‘V for Vendetta” will follow along the next weeks.

Leave a Reply

